Project

General

Profile

Bug #11259

mandoc should allow ERRORS section in all man section 7 variants

Added by Rob Johnston 4 months ago. Updated 4 months ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
-
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Bite-size
Tags:

Description

Currently mandoc will complain if it finds an ERRORS section in a manpage that's not in it's list of blessed sections - which is currently 2, 3, 4, 7I and 9:
For example:

mandoc: ufm.7d:160:2: WARNING: unexpected section: Sh ERRORS for 2, 3, 4, 7I, 9 only

There are legitimate reasons to have an ERRORS section in all of the Section 7 variants. Thus, this ticket is to cover loosening this restriction accordingly. This change has already been made in illumos-joyent (see commit below), so this ticket is simply to cover porting this change to upstream.

commit 31e9b8d8f301a255a59ee8af1451348da6be8abf
Author: Rob Johnston <rob.johnston@joyent.com>
Date:   Wed Jun 5 22:49:18 2019 +0000

    OS-7821 mandoc should allow ERRORS section in all man section 7 variants
    Reviewed by: Robert Mustacchi <robert.mustacchi@joyent.com>
    Approved by: Joshua M. Clulow <josh@sysmgr.org>

Related issues

Follows illumos gate - Feature #11190: Update mandoc to 1.14.5Closed

Actions

History

#1

Updated by Gergő Mihály Doma 4 months ago

#2

Updated by Rob Johnston 4 months ago

See the original SmartOS ticket for testing notes:

https://smartos.org/bugview/OS-7821

#3

Updated by Electric Monk 4 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit 3c308cd1a430039e3b6327544d02ab1a5384066a

commit  3c308cd1a430039e3b6327544d02ab1a5384066a
Author: Rob Johnston <rob.johnston@joyent.com>
Date:   2019-06-24T20:40:09.000Z

    11259 mandoc should allow ERRORS section in all man section 7 variants
    Reviewed by: Robert Mustacchi <robert.mustacchi@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Jason King <jason.king@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
    Reviewed by: Michal Nowak <mnowak@startmail.com>
    Reviewed by: Gergő Doma <domag02@gmail.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF