Project

General

Profile

Bug #12260

Fix zpool history unbounded memory usage

Added by Jerry Jelinek 12 months ago. Updated 12 months ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
Gerrit CR:

Description

Port the following commit from OpenZFS

7125a109dcc Fix zpool history unbounded memory usage

From that description
In original implementation, zpool history will read the whole history
before printing anything, causing memory usage goes unbounded. We fix
this by breaking it into read-print iterations.

#1

Updated by Jerry Jelinek 12 months ago

To test this, I did a zfs test run. I also manually verified 'zpool history' is working as expected.

#2

Updated by Electric Monk 12 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit a52121ea720d327228a95e9d0c4a426339f08c7f

commit  a52121ea720d327228a95e9d0c4a426339f08c7f
Author: Chunwei Chen <david.chen@nutanix.com>
Date:   2020-02-03T21:38:28.000Z

    12260 Fix zpool history unbounded memory usage
    Portions contributed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Tom Caputi <tcaputi@datto.com>
    Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <matt@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <igor@dilos.org>
    Reviewed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
    Reviewed by: Sanjay Nadkarni <Sanjay G Nadkarni <snadkarni@tintri.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF