Project

General

Profile

Actions

Feature #12526

closed

Could combine misc_link_i386.c handlers

Added by Patrick Mooney about 2 years ago. Updated about 2 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
kernel
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
bhyve
Gerrit CR:

Description

Upstreaming for OS-6688:

Several handlers in usr/src/cmd/devfsadm/i386/misc_link_i386.c are essentially the same: they name their@/dev/@ entry after the minor name. In preparation for some new bhyve entries, let's use common code for these.

Testing done here is essentially booting and testing with ls that the symlinks are correct, and rm then devfsadm correctly re-creates them, under COAL and a H/W CN.

Actions #1

Updated by Patrick Mooney about 2 years ago

I booted a machine with the patch and checked that the symlinks in /dev for smbios, srn, and ucode were present as expected (like without the patch).

Actions #2

Updated by Electric Monk about 2 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit 629c07fb6e3f1db7dc0b6e1647ee779f6aaef329

commit  629c07fb6e3f1db7dc0b6e1647ee779f6aaef329
Author: John Levon <john.levon@joyent.com>
Date:   2020-04-20T18:03:21.000Z

    12526 Could combine misc_link_i386.c handlers
    Reviewed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Patrick Mooney <patrick.mooney@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <ypankov@fastmail.com>
    Reviewed by: Andy Fiddaman <andy@omniosce.org>
    Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF