Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #14077

closed

Want wrapper for external SMB server tests

Added by Gordon Ross over 1 year ago. Updated 5 months ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
cifs - CIFS server and client
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
Gerrit CR:
External Bug:
racktop:BSR-9841

Description

SMB server developers like to use "smbtorture" (from Samba) but that test:
generates lots of noise when it runs, has bugs that cause it to stop sometimes,
and reports "failures" for lots of tests where some are not really failures or
where we disagree about how things shoud work, etc.

Matt Barden wrote very handy little python wrapper that can run sections of
the smbtorture tests, monitors test progress, and produces an easy to use
summary output. That can become an addition to usr/src/test


Files

Actions #2

Updated by Gordon Ross over 1 year ago

Here's what we integrated. Note that I ditched the "baseline comparison" thing because it doesn't work well with running subsets of the tests, and I figure that fits better in a "containing framework" outside this test.
I also added the ability to run multiple sets of tests (multiple match patterns).

Actions #3

Updated by Gordon Ross 6 months ago

  • Category set to cifs - CIFS server and client
  • Status changed from New to In Progress
  • Assignee changed from Matt Barden to Gordon Ross

See CR ...

Actions #4

Updated by Electric Monk 6 months ago

  • Gerrit CR set to 2277
Actions #5

Updated by Gordon Ross 5 months ago

  • Assignee changed from Gordon Ross to Toomas Soome

Ref. BSR-9841

Actions #6

Updated by Gordon Ross 5 months ago

Testing: We use this regularly, on both illumos and Linux (it's just shell and python scripts).
I've attached a sample summary output: smbtor-smb2-baseline.summary.txt
Note that the tests don't all pass, but comparing run-to-run is useful.

Actions #7

Updated by Gordon Ross 5 months ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Pending RTI
Actions #8

Updated by Electric Monk 5 months ago

  • Status changed from Pending RTI to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit f2ae17ede4a9a93585872a9aa83120497285bdd0

commit  f2ae17ede4a9a93585872a9aa83120497285bdd0
Author: Matt Barden <mbarden@tintri.com>
Date:   2022-09-10T18:53:20.000Z

    14077 Want wrapper for external SMB server tests
    Reviewed by: Evan Layton <elayton@tintri.com>
    Reviewed by: Gordon Ross <gordon.ross@tintri.com>
    Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <ypankov@tintri.com>
    Reviewed by: Suresh Jayaraman <sjayaraman@tintri.com>
    Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
    Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@fingolfin.org>

Actions #9

Updated by Gordon Ross 5 months ago

It's also worth noting that we maintain a custom version of smbtorture with some fixes, eg. to avoid bailing out early in tests that try to use OS/2-style EAs (which we don't implement) and other test problems.
We've also added some tests in our version. You can find our version here:
https://github.com/racktopsystems/samba/commits/rt-eng-tort2
or on a later branch similarly named.

Actions #10

Updated by Gordon Ross 5 months ago

  • External Bug set to racktop:BSR-9841
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF