Project

General

Profile

Bug #3403

spa history version logging spams console on pool create/import/etc.

Added by Rich Lowe almost 7 years ago. Updated over 6 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2012-12-07
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Bite-size
Tags:

Description

http://src.illumos.org/source/xref/illumos-gate/usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/spa_history.c#541

Will spam the console. It should be removed. (or perhaps be a zfs_dbgmsg?)

The code's been there for (relatively) ever.

commit c8e1f6d2e1adb3a8cc413859aaa8c61813665ac6
Author: Mark J Musante <Mark.Musante@Sun.COM>
Date:   Mon Jun 22 21:15:44 2009 -0400

    6842809 zfs history needs to record system info on import/create

History

#1

Updated by Yuri Pankov almost 7 years ago

It won't spam the console because of the "!" (The message goes only to the system log), and having the messages in system log isn't a bad thing, IMO.

#2

Updated by Rich Lowe almost 7 years ago

How in the world is having left over debug gunk logged a good thing?

#3

Updated by Yuri Pankov over 6 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Resolved
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

The "left over debug gunk" was removed in:

commit 3b2aab18808792cbd248a12f1edf139b89833c13
Author: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Date:   Thu Feb 28 12:44:05 2013 -0800

    3464 zfs synctask code needs restructuring
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
    Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>

Also available in: Atom PDF