Project

General

Profile

Bug #3580

Want zvols to return volblocksize when queried for physical block size

Added by Christopher Siden over 6 years ago. Updated almost 6 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2013-02-19
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

What the title says.

History

#1

Updated by Kirill Davydychev over 6 years ago

I'm not sure this is a good idea. If you need to adjust the blocksize reported, change the blocksize of your COMSTAR LU - it's what it's there for.

Default is 512 bytes because most legacy clients expect 512 byte sectors; newer initiators will also support 4K (as the new drives). I am not sure what the behavior of an arbitrary initiator will be once you deviate from 512 or 4096. Things may very well fall apart.

#2

Updated by George Wilson almost 6 years ago

This change is not meant to change the blocksize reported by COMSTAR but instead to allow other zvol consumers to be able to query the blocksize that is being used by the zvol. COMSTAR can continue to use it's current mechanism.

#3

Updated by Christopher Siden almost 6 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Closed
commit a0b60564dfc644f4bfaef1ce26d343b44cf68bc5
Author: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Date:   Thu Nov 28 23:16:35 2013

    3580 Want zvols to return volblocksize when queried for physical block size
    Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Boris Protopopov <boris.protopopov@nexenta.com>
    Reviewed by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
    Approved by: Gordon Ross <gwr@nexenta.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF