Project

General

Profile

Bug #5116

zpool history -i goes into infinite loop

Added by Matthew Ahrens about 5 years ago. Updated about 5 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2014-08-24
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

After doing a "zfs destroy" that destroys many snapshots in one ioctl,
if you run "zpool history -i", it
will go into an infinite loop.

The problem is that there is a history record which is larger than the buffer
that libzfs provides (128KB), and libzfs does not handle this error gracefully.
We should make it expand the buffer as needed, or at least fail gracefully.

History

#1

Updated by Electric Monk about 5 years ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Status changed from New to Closed

git commit 3339867a862f63acdad71abd574d5d79e18d8579

commit  3339867a862f63acdad71abd574d5d79e18d8579
Author: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Date:   2014-09-05T17:04:58.000Z

    5116 zpool history -i goes into infinite loop
    Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Richard Elling <richard.elling@gmail.com>
    Reviewed by: Boris Protopopov <boris.protopopov@me.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF