Project

General

Profile

Bug #5813

zfs_setprop_error(): Handle errno value E2BIG.

Added by Matthew Ahrens over 4 years ago. Updated over 4 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2015-04-09
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

Lets pull in this patch from freebsd:
http://svnweb.freebsd.org/base?view=revision&revision=271764
zfs_setprop_error(): Handle errno value E2BIG.
This errno value is emitted by dsl_props_set_check() in
sys/cddl/contrib/opensolaris/uts/common/fs/zfs/dsl_prop.c, and
is used to mean that the property value is too long. For the record,
the maximum length is ZAP_MAXVALUELEN, which is 8*1024 bytes.
Instead of claiming an unknown error (and abort()ing), provide
something more specific to the scenario involved. As far as I
can tell, E2BIG is not emitted for any other scenario.
MFC after: 1 week
Sponsored by: Spectra Logic
Affects: All ZFS versions starting 27 Feb 2009 (illumos ccba0801)
This change modified the value returned by
dsl_props_set_check(), so that it can distinguish between
a name that's too long and a value that's too long, but
libzfs was not updated accordingly.
MFSpectraBSD: r1051499 on 2014/03/28 11:07:59

History

#1

Updated by Electric Monk over 4 years ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Status changed from New to Closed

git commit 6fdcb3d1c2baae812d9cbce37b41469b924efd90

commit  6fdcb3d1c2baae812d9cbce37b41469b924efd90
Author: Will Andrews <will@freebsd.org>
Date:   2015-04-11T18:37:09.000Z

    5813 zfs_setprop_error(): Handle errno value E2BIG.
    Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <paul.dagnelie@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Richard Elling <richard.elling@richardelling.com>
    Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>

Also available in: Atom PDF