Feature #6950

ARC should cache compressed data

Added by George Wilson over 1 year ago. Updated about 1 year ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:2016-05-04
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:George Wilson% Done:

100%

Category:zfs - Zettabyte File System
Target version:-
Difficulty:Hard Tags:needs-triage

Description

When reading compressed data from disk, the ARC should keep the compressed block cached and only decompress it when consumers access the block. The uncompressed data should be short-lived allowing the ARC to cache a much larger amount of data. The DMU would also maintain a smaller cache of uncompressed blocks to minimize the impact of decompressing frequently accessed blocks.

History

#1 Updated by John Huang over 1 year ago

Good idea!

#2 Updated by Electric Monk about 1 year ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Status changed from In Progress to Closed

git commit dcbf3bd6a1f1360fc1afcee9e22c6dcff7844bf2

commit  dcbf3bd6a1f1360fc1afcee9e22c6dcff7844bf2
Author: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Date:   2016-07-14T18:55:57.000Z

    6950 ARC should cache compressed data
    Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Don Brady <don.brady@intel.com>
    Reviewed by: Richard Elling <Richard.Elling@RichardElling.com>
    Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>

Also available in: Atom