Project

General

Profile

Bug #7072

zfs fails to expand if lun added when os is in shutdown state

Added by Igor Kozhukhov over 3 years ago. Updated about 3 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2016-06-06
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

upstream:
38733 zfs fails to expand if lun added when os is in shutdown state
DLPX-36910 spares and caches should not display expandable space
DLPX-39262 vdev_disk_open spam zfs_dbgmsg buffer

History

#1

Updated by Matthew Ahrens over 3 years ago

The problem here is that the expandable space is being calculated incorrectly. Instead of using the EFI label info (DKIOCGETEFI), we should use DKIOCGMEDIAINFO[EXT].

Additionally, the expandable capacity should be reported as a multiple of the metaslab size, since that's how much can actually be used.

Additionally, we should not spam zfs_dbgmsg().

#2

Updated by Igor Kozhukhov over 3 years ago

  • Description updated (diff)
#3

Updated by Electric Monk about 3 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit c39a2aae1e2c439d156021edfc20910dad7f9891

commit  c39a2aae1e2c439d156021edfc20910dad7f9891
Author: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Date:   2016-07-19T23:58:09.000Z

    7072 zfs fails to expand if lun added when os is in shutdown state
    Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Alex Reece <alex@delphix.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF