Project

General

Profile

Bug #7252

compressed zfs send / receive

Added by Daniel Kimmel over 3 years ago. Updated about 2 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Start date:
2016-08-01
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

This feature includes code to allow a system with compressed ARC enabled to send data in its compressed form straight out of the ARC, and receive data in its compressed form directly into the ARC.

History

#1

Updated by Electric Monk about 3 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit 5602294fda888d923d57a78bafdaf48ae6223dea

commit  5602294fda888d923d57a78bafdaf48ae6223dea
Author: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Date:   2016-11-29T20:43:18.000Z

    7252 compressed zfs send / receive
    7628 create long versions of ZFS send / receive options
    Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: John Kennedy <john.kennedy@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Sebastien Roy <sebastien.roy@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: David Quigley <dpquigl@davequigley.com>
    Reviewed by: Thomas Caputi <tcaputi@datto.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>

#2

Updated by Gernot Strasser about 3 years ago

This commit is causing a panic on the receiver of a compressed stream.
see http://pastebin.com/XMcNwC9P
I can provide the dump

#3

Updated by Daniel Kimmel about 3 years ago

Hi Gernot, the dump would be very helpful! Can you either post it in a place I can access it, or send it to me at ? Thanks very much!

#4

Updated by Gernot Strasser about 2 years ago

As it looks like Dan has left Delphix can anybody else look into this?
The problem remains and this feature is dangerous for the receiving side.
I have a dump available, but I guess this can be easily reproduced.
thx

Also available in: Atom PDF