Project

General

Profile

Bug #7377

want mechanism to override physical block size of NVMe devices

Added by Hans Rosenfeld over 4 years ago. Updated over 4 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
driver - device drivers
Start date:
2016-09-14
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Bite-size
Tags:
needs-triage
Gerrit CR:

Description

All the NVMe devices that I had worked with so far use a 512 byte block size by default. Some of them also report other supported block sizes and the driver uses that to report the best performing block size as physical block size to blkdev.

Some SSDs such as the Samsung SM941 and SM951 report no other block sizes than 512 bytes. Apparently some users tried unsuccessfully to use the sd.conf workaround on nvme to fix this, so I think a similar mechanism for nvme would be useful to have.

This will introduce a min-phys-block-size property to nvme.conf which can be set to any power of 2. The maximum of this value and the best physical block size reported will be used as physical block size by the driver.

#1

Updated by Electric Monk over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit 6801591e1fea06222c50622c468541c82c67cdb4

commit  6801591e1fea06222c50622c468541c82c67cdb4
Author: Hans Rosenfeld <hans.rosenfeld@nexenta.com>
Date:   2016-09-29T16:06:41.000Z

    7377 want mechanism to override physical block size of NVMe devices
    Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <yuri.pankov@nexenta.com>
    Reviewed by: Josef 'Jeff' Sipek <josef.sipek@nexenta.com>
    Reviewed by: Eric Sproul <eric.sproul@circonus.com>
    Reviewed by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
    Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>

Also available in: Atom PDF