Project

General

Profile

Bug #7570

tunable to allow zvol SCSI unmap to return on commit of txn to ZIL

Added by Daniel Kimmel almost 3 years ago. Updated almost 3 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2016-11-11
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

Based on the discovery that every unmap waits for the commit of the txn to the ZIL, introducing a very high latency to unmap commands, this behavior was made into a tunable zvol_unmap_sync_enabled and set to false. The net impact of this change is that by default SCSI unmap commands will result in space being freed within the zvol (today they are ignored and returned with good status). However, unlike the code today, instead of 18+ms per unmap, they take about 30us.

With the testing done on NTFS against a Win2k12 target, the new behavior should work seamlessly. Files on the zvol that have already been set with the zfree application will continue to write 0's when deleted, and any new files created since zvol creation will send unmap commands when deleted. This behavior exists today, but with this change the unmap commands will be processed and result in reclaim of space.

History

#1

Updated by Electric Monk almost 3 years ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Status changed from New to Closed

git commit 1c9272b861cd640a8342f4407da026ed98615517

commit  1c9272b861cd640a8342f4407da026ed98615517
Author: Stephen Blinick <stephen.blinick@delphix.com>
Date:   2016-11-19T04:49:33.000Z

    7570 tunable to allow zvol SCSI unmap to return on commit of txn to ZIL
    Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Steve Gonczi <steve.gonczi@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Saso Kiselkov <saso.kiselkov@nexenta.com>
    Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <yuri.pankov@nexenta.com>
    Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF