Project

General

Profile

Bug #7955

libshare needs to initialize only those datasets being modified by the consumer

Added by Prakash Surya over 2 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
zfs - Zettabyte File System
Start date:
2017-03-09
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:
needs-triage

Description

Libshare currently initializes all available filesystems when doing any
libshare operation. This requires iterating through all the filesystem
multiple times, which is a huge performance problem for sharing and
unsharing operations.


Related issues

Related to illumos gate - Bug #8502: illumos#7955 broke delegated datasets when libshare is not presentClosed2017-07-18

Actions

History

#1

Updated by Electric Monk over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

git commit 8a981c3356b194b3b5c0ae9276a9cc31cd2f93a3

commit  8a981c3356b194b3b5c0ae9276a9cc31cd2f93a3
Author: Daniel Hoffman <dj.hoffman@delphix.com>
Date:   2017-04-14T03:51:30.000Z

    7955 libshare needs to initialize only those datasets being modified by the consumer
    Reviewed by: Steve Gonczi <steve.gonczi@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Sebastien Roy <sebastien.roy@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
    Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <yuri.pankov@gmail.com>
    Approved by: Gordon Ross <gordon.w.ross@gmail.com>

#2

Updated by Marcel Telka about 2 years ago

  • Related to Bug #8502: illumos#7955 broke delegated datasets when libshare is not present added

Also available in: Atom PDF