Project

General

Profile

Bug #9696

add /etc/system.d support

Added by Yuri Pankov over 1 year ago. Updated 10 months ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Category:
system data
Start date:
2018-08-02
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Difficulty:
Medium
Tags:

Description

This adds support for kernel tunables via /etc/system.d. With this change modules can independently provide kernel customization in a simplified manner. Instead of modifying /etc/system file, each module can add a file in /etc/system.d directory. Thus distribution specific tunables are cleanly delineated from user settings. It also enables distributions to easily deliver tunables via patch if needed.

History

#1

Updated by Andy Fiddaman 10 months ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Pending RTI
  • % Done changed from 50 to 100
#2

Updated by Andy Fiddaman 10 months ago

Testing notes:

From Alexander Eremin:

Tested on OpenIndiana using various settings in /etc/system.d/*, also Nexenta have used this in production for some time.

I've done additional testing setting hires_tick to 1 and 0 in various combinations within /etc/system and /etc/system.d/test and found that /etc/system wins as expected. Also confirmed that changes to /etc/system.d/test provoke boot archive updates on reboot.

Testing using boot -a and choosing /dev/null for the system file properly ignores anything set in a fragment file as expected.

#3

Updated by Electric Monk 10 months ago

  • Status changed from Pending RTI to Closed

git commit 2b987d42b0ad07d74e39b18a2498709e5195d7e3

commit  2b987d42b0ad07d74e39b18a2498709e5195d7e3
Author: Alexander Eremin <a.eremin@nexenta.com>
Date:   2019-02-11T17:20:31.000Z

    9696 add /etc/system.d support
    Portions contributed by: Andy Fiddaman <andy@omniosce.org>
    Reviewed by: Hans Rosenfeld <hans.rosenfeld@joyent.com>
    Reviewed by: Peter Tribble <peter.tribble@gmail.com>
    Reviewed by: C Fraire <cfraire@me.com>
    Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
    Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>

Also available in: Atom PDF